Shelf Lives of Common Foods!

So, remember my super-informative post sometime last week about my amazing skills as a college cook?

Y0UJC

Joke.

Let’s just say that it’s a good thing I’m a pig and take a bite of all my packed lunches before putting them away for later. Otherwise, today’s small bout of food poisoning would’ve been a whole lot worse! A few hours later, I started feeling a headache coming on and went back home to rest. The one day that I make it to the library, I’m forced back home.

I didn’t put two and two together until I already reheated the meal again.

Laughingly, this is not the first time I’ve exposed myself to food poisoning. The other time was two-week old spaghetti. This was a very poor weekend for my stomach.

So, I decided to look up shelf lives of common food! And, because I was already going to research it, decided to not let precious time go to waste.

This article is brought to you by—

Kfoodpoisioning

Let’s get started.

Rice (cooked): refrigerated, this lasts 4-6 days. Frozen, up to 6 months! The key thing is to refrigerate 2 hours after cooking.

Rice (uncooked): indefinitely, as long as it’s in an airtight container.

Linguini (cooked): 

Chicken (raw): refrigerated, it can only last 1-2 days. Frozen, up to 9 months! Good thing I looked this up, because this has become a new regular of mine and I was going to guess a week in the fridge. Narrowly avoided a third encounter of food poisoning!

Chicken (cooked): refrigerated, 3-4 days. Frozen, 4 months. This would’ve been another encounter, since I frequently purchase a rotisserie chicken from the supermarkets and use it as parts of a meal over the course of a week. I guess I should freeze it now…

Celery (raw): refrigerated, 1-2 weeks. Great news—these make for excellent snacks and are easily cut up for your salad!

Mixed greens: refrigerated, it lasts 3-5 days. Yikes, I need to learn how to portion things better!

Onion (whole): refrigerated, it can last months! Great news. However, the chopped version can only last 3-5 days so make use of it while you can!

These are usually the things that I have a hard time with making use of. The other things, like fruits are usually eaten immediately since I love them so much.

For more information like this, I found an awesome website that lists all these things! StillTasty is an awesome site.

As always, when you store things, try to store them in airtight containers. When you store things in Ziploc bags, make sure there’s as little air in there as possible. Try to plan your meals so that you’re not wasting any of the food you bought or cooked! I had to throw away a large batch of fried rice because I didn’t do my research.

I hope this saved you from any food poisoning. It’s uncomfortable at least and hospitalization-necessary at most. Good thing my stomach is capable of taking such a beating, otherwise I’d have quite a hefty bill on top of student loans waiting for me!

REMEMBER, I HAVE MOVED. MY NEW BLOG IS HERE: CLICK TO SUBSCRIBE! 

Comments welcome!

